newbie help with Skybox shading?

All about the core api and animation, input, sound, effect, collision and physics engines.
You can also post here your feature requests.

Moderator: Brume Dev Team

newbie help with Skybox shading?

Postby jeskeca on Wed Apr 02, 2008 7:00 pm

First off, while I'm a seasoned programmer, I'm a total 3d newbie.

I found brume + visual studio express a really easy way to get some polys up on the screen. The availability of the ultra simple demos really helped me poke around and imitate pieces to get what I want.

However, I'm having some trouble with putting in a skybox. Brume has provisions for a skydome, however I have a more traditional skybox cube-face set of textures. I made a cube and imitated the skydome to get the culling switched and the cube sized. I threw a texture on it, and tossed Lighted=false in there, and I can see the skybox. However, I'm stuck on my next goals...

(a) how do I texture different faces of the cube with textures loaded from different files?

(a) how do I setup lighting to avoid the edges of my cube being visible?

This is for a space game, so I need all directions rendered and none of the daylight shading being done on the skydome.

My setup looks like this right now:
Code: Select all
BrumeCubeMeshTextured skyMesh = new BrumeCubeMeshTextured(this, "SkyBox Cube");
BrumeInfiniteObject skyBox = new BrumeInfiniteObject(this, "SkyBox", skyMesh);
BrumeTexture texture1 = this.GetTexture("spaceboxzg5_bk.png");  // only the first of 6 faces
skyBox.RenderStates.Texture[0] = texture1;
skyBox.RenderStates.Culling = BrumeRenderParams.CULLING_CLOCK;
skyBox.RenderStates.Perspective = BrumeRenderParams.PERSPECTIVE_INFINITE;
skyBox.RenderStates.ZBuffered = true;
skyBox.RenderStates.ZWriting = true;
skyBox.RenderStates.Lighted = false; // just so I can see it

- David
jeskeca
Brume Rookie

Re: newbie help with Skybox shading?

Postby Silmaryls on Thu Apr 03, 2008 7:50 pm

Hi David,